MINA'BENTE NUEBE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (Second) Regular Session

Resolution No. 121(45)

Introduced by:



RELATIVE TO OBSERVING THE UNIVERSITY OF GUAM'S CHARTER DAY CELEBRATION AND TO COMMENDING THE UOG PRESIDENT, FACULTY, STAFF, STUDENTS AND BOARD OF REGENTS AND THE 2008 CHARTER DAY COMMITTEE FOR THEIR WORK IN CONTINUING THE TRADITIONAL CELEBRATION OF THIS AUSPICIOUS AND HISTORIC EVENT.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, on March 11, 2008, the University of Guam ("the University"), a land grant institution, will observe its Charter Day, marking its founding; and

WHEREAS, the Territorial College of Guam, which was founded in 1952, offering limited classes at the old George Washington High School campus in Mongmong, developed from a two (2) year teacher training institution to a Land Grant University that offers a full range of undergraduate programs and graduate

studies, relocated to its present one hundred (100) acre campus overlooking Pago Bay in Mangilao in 1961; and

WHEREAS, the Territorial College of Guam was renamed the "University of Guam" by the ninth (9th) Guam Legislature after being accredited for the maximum period by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges ("WASC") in 1968; and

WHEREAS, the University of Guam's first Charter Day was proclaimed on December 17, 1968, by the Honorable Governor Manuel F.L. Guerrero through Executive Order 74-09; and

WHEREAS, the year 2008 marks the 56th year of the founding of the University of Guam and the 40th Charter Day celebration; and

WHEREAS, while the University pursues its mission of providing resident instruction and research to the people of Guam, it also provides our neighbors throughout Micronesia the opportunity to achieve higher education; and

WHEREAS, the University of Guam, in its quest to maintain its tradition of excellence, continues to contribute to the Island's social, cultural, political and economic advancement; and

WHEREAS, the theme for this year "Serving Our Community Today, Building A Better Tomorrow," reflects the vision and mission of the University of Guam to provide higher education and

opportunities for the people of Guam, the islands of the Western Pacific, and the Asian Pacific Rim nations; and

WHEREAS, the 2008 Charter Day activities will showcase Guam's cultural, social, educational and recreational activities by inviting the People of Guam to visit the Mangilao campus during the week and share in these experiences; and

WHEREAS, Helen J.D. Whippy, Ph.D., Interim President of the University, appointed the 2008 Charter Day Committee to organize this year's activities, whose membership includes: Pedro R. Martinez, Chairman; Peter Barcinas, Jesse Rosario, Vic Camacho, Lt. Col. Kevin Weslowski, Julie Pangelinan, Rick R. Castro, John B. Perez, Dr. Anita Borja-Enriquez, Dr. Ron McNinch, Cathleen Moore-Linn, Diana Sablan, Louise Toves, Chris Mabayag, Dave Okada, Kin Ninete, Gerry Guerrero, Joe Fernandez, Janet San Nicolas, Brenda Leon Guerrero, June Calvo, Cynthia Guerrero, Therese Roberto, Toni Santos, Jordan Megofna, Dr. James Sellman, Nancy Cueto, Suzanne Wilkins, Dr. Marilyn Salas, Daisy Cruz, Leah Beth Nahalowaa, Velma Yamashita, Kris Torres, Ann Leon Guerrero, Peter Onedera, Frances Guerrero, Benjamin Leon Guerrero II, Loling Cepeda, Pam Eastlick, Connie C. Quinata, Jesse Tedpahago, Monica Wintterle, Joey Santos, Joanie Barcinas, Swingly Dismas, Joe Blas, Bill Palomo, June Aguon, Joanne Diego, Martin Barcinas, Yoichi Rengiil, Lillian Chargualaf, June Aguon, Desiree Calvo, Danny Harrell, Ciana Duke, and Jeffrey Sablan; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislative attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Benjamin Leon Guerrero II, President, UOG Student Government Association; to Dr. Helen J.D. Whippy, Interim President of the University; to Dr. Richard G. Tennessen, Chairman of the UOG Board of Regents; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga Lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE NUEBE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE ___ DAY OF _____ 2008.

MARK FORBES
Speaker and
Chairman, Executive Committee

RAY TENORIO
Senator and
Secretary of the Legislature